Thrilling racing series for supersportscars

Show more images

56 pilots open the throttle, again! In the current season of the ADAC GT Masters 2017 the fans experience motorsport at its best. A top-class grid with 17 teams and 28 supercars from seven automakers (Audi, BMW, Corvette, Lamborghini, Mercedes-AMG, Nissan and Porsche) guarantee excitement and entertainment. Since 2015 Pirelli is exclusive tyre supplier for the German league of superportscars, too.

In the first four races of the eleventh season of the ADAC GT Masters 2017 four different driver duos were already at the top of the podium. This proves the high power density of drivers and vehicles this year. During numerous duels on the track, the pilots regularly get everything out from the P Zero racing tyres, which show absolute ultra-high performance.

For the ADAC GT Masters, Pirelli transports around 600 tyres per race weekend to the respective track. Each team receives a total of three sets of new tyres for the free prac-tise, the qualifying events and the value races. The dimensions:
• Front axle: 325 / 660-18 and 325 / 680-18.
• Rear axle: 325 / 705-18, (exceptions: BMW M6 and Nissan GTR, which drive this size all around).

In addition, for free practise the teams can nominate two sets of used tyres per car that those car had driven at a previous event. If it rains, the Pirelli rain tyres will be used.

With the Audi Sport racing academy (Audi R8 LMS), BMW Team Schnitzer (BMW M6 GT3), BWT Mücke Motorsport (Audi R8 LMS) and Twin Busch Motorsport (Audi R8 LMS), four new racing teams take an active part in the ADAC GT Masters. Of course, their cars are also well-known to the engineers at Pirelli, because the manufacturer equips the serial pendants of the vehicle models, which start with the ADAC GT Masters, with individually manufactured original equipment tyres.

For 19 of the 56 drivers the ADAC GT Masters 2017 is the premiere season in the league of super cars. A total of eight former ADAC GT Masters winner compete for the title again this year: Sebastian Asch (2012 and 2015), Christopher Haase (2007), Maximilian Götz (2012), Daniel Keilwitz (2013), Kelvin van der Linde (2014) Luca Ludwig (2015), Connor De Phillippi (2016), and Christopher Mies (2016)

The youngest driver is Ricardo Feller, only 16 years old. Still no driver in the ADAC GT Masters Younger has been younger than the adventurer from the ADAC Formula 4. Sen-ior pilot si the Dutch Patrick Huisman who is 50 years old. And with Rahel Frey and Mika-ela Åhlin-Kottulinsky again two women start in the ADAC GT Masters.

This year there are still five race weekends with a total of ten races in Germany, Austria and the Netherlands. The next racing weekend of the ADAC GT Masters will take place from 9th to 11th June at the Red Bullring in Spielberg, Austria.

In addition to the ADAC GT Masters, Pirelli also supports numerous other prestigious GT racing series, including the most popular championships in Europe and the USA, as well as prestigious races on legendary tracks such as Bathurst and Macau.

Read more